Lori's Weblog

Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Fall 2014

Posted on: October 24, 2014

If you have come here via Amy’s Creative Side, welcome!

005

I am entering this as my mini quilt. I started it back in 2009, but it got set aside before I could finish it. My boyfriend (now my husband) and I were going through my stash and UFOs at the end of 2012 and he thought this one was beautiful, so I wanted to finish it for him.

IMG_1160

This is what it looks like unframed. But, we think it looks even prettier with a mat and frame!

IMG_1161

I used silk thread and a fine needle to machine stitch the applique. Variegated thread made the background quilting blend well with the fabric.

Thanks for stopping by my blog. Don’t miss out on all the lovely quilts over on Amy’s blog! And, vote for your favorites in each category.

Category: Mini
Finished Size: Approx: 13.5″ x 20″

Tags:

21 Responses to "Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Fall 2014"

The stained glass effect is terrific (I thought the first photo was real glass). Beautiful work!

Thank you! I am very happy with the result.

The quilt is lovely, and I agree about the mat and frame. 🙂

Thank you! My husband has a good eye.

What an interesting technique. The colours really work well together! Lovely balance! Good luck in the Blogger Quilt festival!
Esther

The most difficult thing was the really tiny pieces. Thank you for visiting!

A beautiful stained glass quilt piece. And you are right it is even more wonderful framed and matted!

Thank you!

I like it unframed better. 🙂

That’s all right!

That is STUNNING. I love it in the frame.

Thank you so much!

Lovely piece, but I’m in favor of the non-framed version. I see more story there to enhance the art.

That’s the great thing about art! Everyone appreciates it in a different way.

Love the stained glass ones, and irises are just a bonus for me, You got my vote!

Thank you!

I love this piece – the art deco feel, the colours of the irises, and the stained glass effect. It’s so beautiful! Framed it almost doesn’t look like a quilt – quite amazing.

Thank you!

I love the stained glass look!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
