Lori's Weblog

I’m actually sewing!

Posted on: August 11, 2014

I know, I’ve been away for a while. Sometimes, life happens! I’ve been busy with things other than sewing for the past few months. Things are coming together at the house…we still have a lot of projects, but it keeps us busy. I haven’t been avoiding the sewing room, but I’d rather be spending time with my new husband than sitting in the sewing room by myself. Anyhow, I’ve started a lap-ish quilt for my sister-in-law. I was able to take fabric from my stash. I had it set aside for a specific project that I hadn’t gotten around to doing. Bubba liked the colors and thought his sister would, too. Then, I had to find a pattern. I didn’t want to do anything too complicated, so it wouldn’t take a whole year to make, but I didn’t want anything that looked too simple, either. I turned to EQ7 and actually designed a one block quilt that looks more fussy than it is. It’s an hourglass block on point and turned 2 different ways. Maria's quilt My awesome husband hung my design wall for me today – we improvised and hung a curtain rod. I made 2 sleeves in my flannel – 1 for the curtain rod and one for a rod to weight the bottom. 002 I put up one of the blocks, so he could see how the design wall works: 003 And, then I sewed 16 of the half square triangle sets together and 32 2 patch sets before my back started to hurt. Kiki was enjoying “her spot” in the sewing room, too. 001

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
