Lori's Weblog

Quilting for baby

Posted on: March 3, 2012

Later in the month, I’m heading to the wilds of Tennessee for a girls weekend/wedding shower/baby shower. Of course, I wanted to make a quilt for the new baby! I recently finished the giant churn dash quilt. For some reason, I didn’t take any pictures of the quilt before I sent it off to my friend, Mary. You’ll just have to take my word for it…it turned out sooooo cute!

So, with not a whole lot of time to get a baby quilt done, I wanted something cute, but also quick to put together. Thanks to the gals of Blue Meadow Designs, I had the pattern for their Boho Baby in my inbox in a matter of minutes. I chose some very non-baby fabrics for this fun little quilt…”Good Fortune” by Kate Spain for Moda. So, if you know me and are having a baby shower soon, look away NOW!

Most of the top…hanging from my ironing board, so you can’t see that the top section of the quilt is bordered in white.

A little Misty Fuse and some lavender silk thread for the machine applique…seriously, works great! (A size 10 needle and a small, tight zig-zag. Not as tight as a satin stitch, but close.)

Here you can see a bit of the black/white border. And, the focus fabric is much more true to life in this picture. I think it looks a little lavender-ish in that top photo, it’s actually kind of grey.

Now, I just need to sandwich and quilt. Guess what I’m doing the rest of the weekend?

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
