Lori's Weblog

A little Halloween and a little sewing

Posted on: October 3, 2011

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve updated my blog! To the 2 or 3 of you who read, I’m so sorry. I’ve been a baaaaaad sewist, but it’s time to get back in the saddle.

First of all, I’d like to show you the little Halloween decoration I put together. If you frequent the blogosphere, or Pinterest, you may have noticed the Subway Art trend. I don’t really know why it’s called Subway Art…but it is kind of fun. So, I powered up Photoshop Elements, made a visit to DaFont, for some Halloween-y fonts and clip art, and away I went. I printed a background from ScrapbookScrapbook, printed my words on vellum and layered them in an inexpensive white frame from Target. Yay! And, very cute, if I do say so myself. Here is how my project turned out.

And, I’m doing a little sewing, too. Well, a little sewing and a little unsewing. I made the quilt sandwich on Saturday and started quilting on Sunday. Unfortunately, I had a little fold in the quilt back, so had to undo about an 8 inch square section. But, I’m ready to get back to it tomorrow night.

See?

This is the biggest quilt I’ve ever quilted on my home machine…it’s about 70×70. And, I’m trying to get it finished by the 2nd weekend in November, so I can deliver it in person to my friend, Mary.

And, finally, if you’re looking for some holiday sew-alongs, head over to Sew Mama Sew. There are 3 sew-along projects to choose from. I’m leaning heavily to Happy Zombie’s Christmas Tree Pants.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
