Lori's Weblog

Oversize blocks and a challenge

Posted on: June 29, 2011

A couple weeks ago, I had a message on Facebook from a friend from my hometown. She wanted to know if I ever sold my quilts. Since I’d still like to enter “Whole Lotta” in a show this summer, I need to keep my “amateur” status. Selling your work puts you in the “Master” category, and I’m not anywhere close to a Master quilter. Anyway, I told her I would be happy to gift her a quilt that I would make her from fabric in my stash. Luckily, for both of us, she had no color preferences and wasn’t looking for anything specific as far as a pattern. She just wants something to curl up with on the couch. We had a sew-in that same weekend and I remembered seeing the tutorial for the oversize shoo-fly block quilt at Sew Mama, Sew . Four easy 35 inch blocks…top completed in 1 afternoon. Yay! Now, it just needs to be sandwiched and quilted.


In person, it’s much cuter. The colors just seem a little off here.

In other fabric news…The Quilter’s Workshop issued a challenge. We’ve been making Kanzashi flowers at the shop and the link takes you to all the entries. I made entry #2, #4, and #5. I’m especially pleased with my Kanzashi topiary. Here’s the picture from the store’s website.


There are about 35 flowers, a couple of bees, and a dragonfly…it’s very bright and cute! Can’t wait to get it back home.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
