Lori's Weblog

The little quilt block that took a year to make…

Posted on: January 17, 2011


It’s not squared up, yet…but I finally got this block done. It was my block for Diane in last year’s Sisterhood round. I had 3 or 4 blocks picked, decided on this one, then lost the paper-pieced parts. Found them and couldn’t find the directions. The stars all aligned and this little kitty is now DONE. Okay, except for the tail…it’s not sewn on because it goes into the seam allowance. Oh, yeah, and it needs the face embroidered on. But, I’m counting it as done.

Also, done…my chemo blanket! I’ll turn it in on Saturday and it will be donated to a chemo patient at the hospital where our sewing friend, Stacey, has her chemo. It is made of double-sided Cuddle.

I sewed down the binding with a zig-zag stitch…it’s the easiest way to handle the Cuddle binding.

I have other crafty hobbies beside quilting. When Stacey was first diagnosed with breast cancer, I crocheted several hats for her. I found the patterns at headhuggers.org. Anyway, it was cold in Texas last week, and I couldn’t find my hat. It’s a great hat, too. I got it in Lyon, France, in 2001. I’m sure it will show up somewhere. Anyway, I needed a new hat. So, I crocheted one for myself. The pattern is here. I finished it over the weekend. And, of course, it’s now warm. Anyway, I tried taking a picture in the mirror…might have helped if I’d put on a nicer top, but I was comfy and warm. So, here I am in all my slobby glory.

But, the hat is cute!

In other quilty news, I went to the Plano Guild meeting last week. Their speaker was Esterita Austin. She was interesting, funny, and…oh my gosh! Very cool work. I can’t wait to try my hand at her technique.

Well, that’s it for today. Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
