Lori's Weblog

Happy New Year!

Posted on: January 2, 2011

I hope you ended 2010 and began 2011 on a high note!

I ended 2010 with good friends and Texas hockey. After the Texas Tornado game, we skated a little bit. I was happy to get my shoes back!

I’m looking forward to a year full of family, friends, new beginnings, and many exciting happenings. This week I am entering one of my quilts in the Dallas Quilt Show…see, an exciting happening!

Yesterday was spent with more friends…sewing the afternoon away. There was good food and laughter. I even got a good deal of sewing done! One of our sewing friends was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2010. We found out that the chemo rooms are very chilly and TQW customers have been making double-sided cuddle chemo blankets and donating them to other chemo patients having treatments at the same hospital as our friend. I got 1/2 way through my chemo blanket – forgot to bring the other feet for my sewing machine, so I wasn’t able to finish, but I will get it done this week…maybe even this afternoon!

I also made a pillow case that matches the quilt I’m entering in the Dallas Show. Cute, isn’t it?

Dad turns 70 in February. I found this fusible eagle silhouette for a quilted wall hanging at Festival. I pieced the top together (using my own fabric choices. I think that flag fabric is kind of hideous – sorry!) and will be getting to work applying the eagle heads today. I’d like to have the wall-hanging finished BEFORE I get on the plane to go see him for his birthday!

Here’s hoping your year is filled with all kinds of wonderful things…and that you visit here often.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
