Lori's Weblog

Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Posted on: October 31, 2010

Once again, Amy is hosting the quilt show in conjunction with Market and Festival in Houston.

I’m sharing a quilt that I showed on my blog just a couple weeks ago. This is my “Whole Lotta” quilt.

I started this quilt probably about 6 years ago. I had seen it in Kaffe Fasset’s Passionate Patchwork book. It is his “Suzani” pattern. Originally, this was to be a baby quilt for an acquaintance. I wasn’t very happy with the way the top was going together…the way the circles were set into the quilt is not the way I would do it today…now that I know more…and, they didn’t lay flat. In fact, most of the circles were about a “C” cup!

This year, I learned to machine quilt on my home machine. My guild has a UFO challenge and this was one of the UFOs on my list. When I sandwiched it, I had to pin the heck out of the circles. A number of hours later, as well as something like 8 or more spools of orange, gold, and blue thread, I have a quilt I just love. Here are a couple close-ups of the quilting:


Thanks for stopping by! If you are looking for more of the quilts in the Festival, head over to:

Amy's Creative Side - Blogger's Quilt Festival
28 Responses to "Blogger’s Quilt Festival"

Fantastic! Love everything about this quilt. I am learning how to freemotion quilt on my home machine. Your quilting on this quilt is amazing ! I am going to bookmark this one to come back to later.
Marianne

Nice to look back at you were then and see where you’re at now. What a lovely colorful quilt,love the quilting on it as well.

OMG! Seriously gorgeous. Love the colours but more especially the quilting.

Wow! All those circles! It’s lovely. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by our blog and for your kind words. Yes, it was so much fun trying new things!

Genevieve

oooh, i love this quilt, and your quilting is divine! thanks for sharing~

This looks nothing like the projects I abandon! Lovely job! And “C” cup made me laugh so hard!

Great rescue of a UFO with boobies! Hilarious description, by the way–C-Cup 🙂 Every quilt teaches, that’s for sure. Glad you finished and are happy with the beautiful results. Thanks for sharing your quilt’s story 🙂

Gorgeous!!! I’d have never known those C-cup circles look flat and gorgeous with all that lovely quilting. Way to tackle that UFO!

WOW – I took a closer look at your quilting, it is amazing! Thanks for sharing!

I love the quilt, love the colours and love the quilting. I bet you’re glad now that you got it out to work on again?

That quilting is awesome. Love how your UFO was perfect for the machine quilting class.

Wow – wow – this is just amazing – what a wonderful quilt, the quilting on this is just fabulous! Excellent job!

Hi Lori. I love the way the quilt turned out and that you stuck to finishing it. Of course I love all the bright colours, too!
I also learnt the beginnings of free motion quilting this year and am trying my best the develop that skill. Still a long way to go for me. I am really impressed with what you have done so far.

What a wonderful quilt!! I laughed at your C cup description. Your quilting is amazing!! What a great idea for your guild to have a UFO challenge.

Great job on your quilting. I love it!

I have always admired that quilt – yours is amazing!

Wonderful quilt….so happy!! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment, as well. ( I don’t know if you realize your setting is “no reply”.)
Happy quilting,
Carla

Carla – Thank you for stopping by my blog. If I knew how to change my setting from “no reply”, I would. I’m afraid I’m not quite that wordpress smart!

I love circles. Your quilt is stunning! Your quilting really sets off the design and I love Kaffe Fasset designs. Well done! 🙂

Thank you so much to everyone for stopping by and for your kind comments!

Love all the bright colors and the quilting is beautiful. I’ve been focused on finishing up UFOs this year. Doesn’t it feel good to get one off the list?

Congratulations on finishing your colorful, happy quilt. Had to laugh a bit about the C cups…
You did a fabulous job with the quilting! Enjoy your creation!
; )

pretty! In that first quilting photo, I had to look really close, and I realized the quilting looked like it was printed on the fabric–great job!

Amazing what one can do with a machine if one knows how to use it!

Beautiful quilt and amazing quilting! How long have you been quilting on your home machine? The reason I ask, is that I’m wondering if there is still hope for me!!!

Mary – I started at the end of 2009, so there is definitely hope for anyone. I took a great class from a lady who was at my LQS. I can only remember that her first name was Deb, right now, and she’s from the Midwest, I believe. It was a paper and pencil class, not a hands on machine class. She showed us how to draw feathers and a bunch of different fillers. Then, I found Leah Day’s blog, 365 Free Motion Designs. The filler in my circles is one of her designs. I believe it’s called Expanding Paisley or something to that effect.

Most importantly, I started on smaller projects…wall hangings, baby blankets, etc. Good luck to you and thank you for visiting my blog!

What a bright and cheery quilt and kudos on the successful finish. Love the big circles. FUN.
Thanks for visiting my b/w pink mini.

Amazing quilting – lovely quilt! Thanks for sharing!
(and I like your trip to Houston photos too – I’ve been a bit late in getting to all the festival quilts, so saw these ‘on the way down’!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
