Lori's Weblog

Anatomy of a quilt block

Posted on: October 24, 2010

I really hate trying to think of a clever blog title…

So, today I made my block for this week’s Sisterhood meeting. At least, I’m not staying up late on Wednesday to get it done for Thursday! I had Janet’s block this month. Her only requirement was to use the fabric in her box. I found a block I liked at Quilter’s Cache…a 9-patch star.

It had 24 2-1/2 inch 1/2 square triangle pieces. Squares cut at 2-7/8 inches, sewn a quarter inch on either side of a diagonal line, trimmed to 2.5 inches. Here’s my little pile of trimmings.

Lay it out (I just used my sewing/cutting table instead of the design wall). Can you see my layout error?

The middle left squares aren’t pointing the right direction. Of course, I didn’t notice it until I’d pieced those 2 rows…at least I hadn’t sewn the rows to each other, yet, but I did have to do a little reverse sewing.

It probably took me a little longer than necessary, but a couple of hours from start to finish and…Ta-Da!

I also put borders on a table topper, but didn’t take any photos of that. And, made the back for the same table topper. Now, it just needs to be sandwiched. I’ll be using it as a demo project for a free motion quilting demo I’m doing on Saturday.

And, just for the cuteness factor, here’s a picture of Kiki snuggling on the futon in the sewing room – between some project boxes and a blanket.

I’m looking forward to Festival in a couple weeks. Hopefully, though, I’ll have some more of my own work to show you before then.

Have a good week!

4 Responses to "Anatomy of a quilt block"

Wow Kiki has unusual colouring.
Love your star block!

Thanks, Diana. Kiki hardly ever holds still for a picture…she’s usually just a shades of brown streak!

Coming back to say – I think part of the coloring is the fact that I have yellow sheers on the windows in that room! She’s a tortoise-shell…so brown, gold, cream…and the tip of her tail is starting to turn grey as she just turned 14 this summer.

What a great story – I too love Kaffe – I am laughing out loud at C cup circles! Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
