Lori's Weblog

Holy crud, how did it get to be October already?

Posted on: October 3, 2010

Is it just me, or has the year just zoomed by? It has been a lovely “autumn” in north Texas the past week. Temperatures hanging around the mid-70s to mid-80s. Cool at night. When I rolled out of bed at 10:30 this morning (don’t hate – there was a pounding sinus headache I was trying to sleep away), the little temperature feature on my laptop said it was 55 degrees. I may have to break out a jacket for work tomorrow.

Anyhow, I’ve been sewing up a small storm the past couple of weeks. Last Friday, it was “Quilt Girls Party” at TQW and Saturday was an open sew day in the classroom. I had really high hopes of getting my table topper all sewed on Friday. I talk too much. I worked hard on it on Saturday, though. I was all excited and took a picture of the “finished” top:


(Here’s a close-up. Isn’t this fabric (Layered Nature by Studio E) just yummy?)

Only to realize, as I packed up at the end of the day, that I hadn’t put the borders on. Well, crap. The borders still aren’t on, but I have several weeks until I need the top completed for my free-motion quilting demo.

While I was working away on the table topper, my friend, Cindy, was working on her 2nd Saturday project from September. How cute is this?

She fussy cut a martini glass and made her center look like an olive by adding a red “pimento”!

Last night, I got to work on the final step of my “Whole Lotta” quilt. I had originally top-stitched the circles down. With off-white thread. Don’t ask me what I was thinking. I didn’t really know what I was doing when I started this quilt 150 years ago. Now, I’m unsewing that machine stitching and making things better with a hand needle and some silk thread.

That black arrow is where you can see the ugly…up top of the photo, making it better.

And, I’m doing a little quilting mystery reading…I picked up the first book in the Someday Quilts mysteries last November at Festival. The author, Clare O’Donohue, was in the Accuquilt booth signing books. One thing lead to another (or more like a ton of books later) and I finally got around to reading it a couple weeks ago. It was good! I finished the 2nd in the series last night and will start the 3rd sometime later today. Probably after bowling.

Another good book I read in September was “Dead to Writes” by Cathy Wiley…her debut novel. You should check it out. A good mystery, good characters. I’m looking forward to more from her.

Okay, it’s time to get back to unsewing circles…as soon as I switch the laundry from the washer to the dryer. Have a great rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
