Lori's Weblog

A 25th anniversary challenge and more free motion quilting

Posted on: August 1, 2010

It’s hot in Dallas. Really hot. It’s 7:40 at night and my little weather icon says it’s still 100 degrees here. I should be working on a sample for the store, but it’s just too dang hot up in my sewing room. In fact, I went to the Dallas Farmers’ Market today and got some onions and cukes for refrigerator pickles and it’s too hot for that, too. They don’t even require the stove. I’m just having a lazy kind of day.

So, last week I took my guild challenge quilt to the office where I have a good wall and good light and took photos of it. For some reason, my laptop won’t recognize that memory card. Luckily, I have more than one memory card, so I just took a few new pictures. I apologize for the quality. It’s a little dark in my living room, and I draped the wall hanging over my sofa, so there isn’t a full photo.

The first requirement was that the quilt be 25 x 25 inches since it was the guild’s 25th anniversary. Then, there were a bunch of other options for making an art quilt and we needed to use 3 of them. I chose to use 4. Our guild’s name is Land O’ Lakes, which lead me to make a 25 inch Lady of the Lakes block. I had an old piece of Laurel Burch fabric with a mermaid on it that was the perfect size for my 15 inch center square.

Three of the requirements: foundation piecing, a sailboat (which is part of our logo), and the number 25 were all taken care of in one 5 inch block in the lower right corner.

And, then, I had to add some bling. Crystals. And, glass beads.

I didn’t win any prizes, but I like my “Nimue”, a lot.

Yesterday, I took a free class at TQW. They do this once a quarter. We pay for the kit and the class is free. The class was for a wall hanging. I’d show you a picture, but it’s in the dead memory card.

Then, I started quilting another of my UFO’s. It’s a quilt from a Kaffe Fassett book called “Passionate Patchwork” and is title “Suzani Quilt” in that book. It has different sized circles on it. Here is a look at the quilting I decided to do in the circles.


I hope it shows up well. It is a design called Paisley Division from Leah Day’s 365 Days of Filler Designs project.

I really like it and got one big and one medium circle done last night. Only a bunch more to go!

Hope you’re keeping cool wherever you are.

Lori

2 Responses to "A 25th anniversary challenge and more free motion quilting"

This is my first visit to your blog. Your handiwork is phenomenal! What a gift you have!!

Thank you so much, Karen! I hope you will visit often.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
