Lori's Weblog

T-shirts, pincushions, and FMQ

Posted on: June 27, 2010

I know this picture is blurry…you can read the temperature, though. Yes, it says 106…degrees Fahrenheit. June 27. Freaking hot.

This was the temperature at the bank at 4:15 this afternoon. My computer says it’s “only” 97. Whatever, it’s hot! (For those of you in other parts of the world, it’s about 41 degrees celsius.)

I spent all day yesterday sewing…10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Started the day with a t-shirt quilt class at TQW. I have had my t-shirts cut out and most of them backed with interfacing for something like 5 years. For the layout we were doing for the class, I needed 9 t-shirts. I chose to go with a travel theme. Here is what I had at the end of the day. I know 2 blocks doesn’t seem like much, but I also spent a little time helping the gal sitting at the next table. And, I had to wait for everyone else to get caught up to the point that I was. It was a good class, though, and I really like the wonky blocks.

Afterwards, I had a sew night with Diana T., Diana S., Stacey, and De. We all had different things to work on. My sister wanted a pincushion for her birthday (which was Friday). Diana T. had some “thumbles” that she had started, so she let me have one of those. Here is a tutorial for one. I don’t know if it’s the exact same one Diana used, but the finished product is the same. I know thumble isn’t a very accurate term, since it’s a pincushion, not a thimble, but I think it’s cute!


This one happens to be made out of Cuddle.

However, Kristie informed me last week that she wanted a wrist pincushion. So, even though she got her other birthday gifts on the day, she is getting the thumble and a wrist pincushion for a 4th of July present. Here is the tutorial for it. It’s cute, don’t you think?

So, that was 2 projects down. I have about 12 UFOs on my UFO challenge list for the guild. I finished one for last month – a 9-patch pizzazz. I don’t have a picture of it right now…I’ll have it in my next post. Another quilt top that I’ve been hanging on to for some 6 years or more is a blue and yellow log cabin. I’ve spent about 6 hours free motion quilting flowers and leaves and probably have about 2 hours of quilting left to do. I’m planning to finish it at a July 3 sew day. But, here’s a little yellow and blue sneak peak:


I’ve seen a couple of movies the past couple weeks, too. “Karate Kid” last Sunday and “Killers” today. I enjoyed both. Little Jaden Smith was excellent in “KK” and watching Jackie Chan do what he does best is awesome. Ashton Kutcher is hot.

Lots of books read, too. “Storm Prey” (the latest in the Lucas Davenport Prey series) by John Sanford, “The Aloha Quilt” (an Elm Creek Quilts novel) by Jennifer Chiaverini, the entire Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley, “Cat of the Century” (the latest Mrs. Murphy mystery) by Rita Mae Brown, “The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner” by Stephenie Meyer, “The Necromancer” by Michael Scott (the latest in the Nicholas Flamel series), “Beside a Burning Sea” by John Shors, “The Last Child” by John Hart, and currently “Murder on Marble Row” a Gaslight Mystery by Victoria Thompson. All good. You still have a few days to read “Bree Tanner” for free.

Thanks for stopping by. Next weekend, planning to catch “Eclipse”, have another 8 hour day of sewing, and enjoying some fireworks.

1 Response to "T-shirts, pincushions, and FMQ"

Hope you’re able to stay cool Lori.
Thanks for the tutorial links, those might be good items for my Mum’s church fete.
My friends and I are hoping to see Eclipse next week.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
