Lori's Weblog

My entry to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Posted on: May 21, 2010

This is my Trixie Friends quilt. It is made from blocks received from women I have met on-line on Trixie Belden message boards. Thirteen Americans and one Australian woman contributed blocks to our swap. We each made a block that somehow related to the Trixie Belden mystery series that we all loved as youngsters. My block is the New York Beauty block in the upper right hand corner. In order to fill in the other 3 spots, I made blocks from scanned illustrations from the books.

I love this quilt because it was made with blocks made by my friends. Some of the blocks were made by women who don’t know how to sew or who had never thought of making a quilt block before. It hangs on the wall at the top of my staircase where I see it every day. And, it reminds me of my dear friends.

Get on over to Amy’s blog and check out the hundreds of other bloggers taking part in the festival.

14 Responses to "My entry to the Blogger’s Quilt Festival"

What a special quilt! That’s such a treasure.

Cute! Cute! Cute!

Lovely quilt. It’s awesome how Bee quilts are more special to us knowing that our friends help make it. Great memories put into fabric. 🙂

Yay – another Trixie fan! The quilt is especially fun when you understand the meaning behind the blocks. It’s been ages since I last went to the Trixie Belden page. Years ago when I got my first computer, I sat in front of it thinking, “Okay, I’m on the internet. Now what do I look for?” The first thing I searched for was Trixie Belden, and I happened upon that site.

What a fun quilt! …and with treasured friends contributing that’s really what I call a winner.

Love the quilt

It’s like a Round Robin type of quilt. LOVE it! Sew On!

Great to see your finished quilt!

Great work! Nice use of color. Simply divine! Can’t wait to see more from you.

http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com

Thanks for stopping by my blog!

what a great group quilt-I will have to find out about this Trixie.
Come see my antique quilt entries
http://utahquiltappraiser.blogpost.com
http://starleyquilts.blogspot.com

What a cute and wonderful idea for a quilt!

what a fun, fun quilt! so precious it was made with blocks from friends. i don’t know this author–my dd might, but i don’t remember if she read them. love your new york beauty–those are just the most wonderful blocks–i HAVE to do some of them one of these days when all the other quilts i’ve already got started are done…HAHAHAHAHA

What a great idea for a quilt.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
