Lori's Weblog

Another virtual quilt show

Posted on: May 19, 2010

It’s time for another Blogger’s Quilt Festival! Well, almost. Friday is the day and, again, it is sponsored by Amy (formerly Park City Amy). I’m headed to Market in MSP tomorrow night, but I’m going to be posting my entry on Friday. And, I hope to have some great pics and stories from my time at Market. It’s my first time, and I’m very excited!

In other news, me and 700 of my closest friends congregated at Border’s in Dallas last weekend to meet Charlaine Harris, of Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) fame. Now, the last book signing I was at was for an author not as well known as Ms. Harris, and was attended by fewer than 50 people. What was I thinking trying to park in the Border’s lot just 10 minutes prior to the start of the event? Luckily, I was able to park in a neighborhood just a block away from the store. I needed the exercise, anyway.

Had I known I needed a colored wristband to secure my spot in the signing line, I would have gone down to the store in the morning. Instead, I spent the entire time Ms. Harris spoke standing in line. In front of some rude women who talked almost the entire time the author was speaking. I even nicely asked them to be quiet so we could all hear her. Deaf ears, I tell ya. When I finally got my purple wristband, I found a spot to stand. Way in the back. I’m 5’2″. Couldn’t see much beyond the people standing in front of me. A lady standing on a chair behind me was kind enough to take this picture of the crowd for me.


If you look really close, you can see Charlaine in the middle of the red Border’s banner in the top center of the picture.

Around 4:30, the purple group was finally called to queue up. There were easily still 200 people in front of me and only about 20 or so behind me. The line wandered through the store. I learned more about the sex lives of the 2 girls behind me than I really cared to know. Seriously, I’m not a prude, but if you have to worry that your mom is going to take your car away, you are probably not old enough to be having sex. Or, offering advice to your friend on how her experience could be better. Should be better. And, really, this is a conversation best had in private. Not in public, surrounded by strangers, one of whom is a 12-year-old girl standing right behind you.

It was almost 1.5 hours later when I finally made it around the last corner. Here I am with Charlaine Harris as she signs my book (or maybe it was Sam’s book):

I’m quite impressed that we both could still smile! And, that her hand wasn’t cramped from all those signatures!

2 Responses to "Another virtual quilt show"

WTG Lori, you deserve a medal for suffering those conditions. I did enjoy the Charlaine Harris book I read but wouldn’t call myself a devotee. And I agree, some conversations are better left at home!

Boy, I love this quilt!

hugz,

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
