Lori's Weblog

Swapping, Quilt-a-longs, and 3D

Posted on: November 23, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving week! A couple weeks ago, my friends, Cindy and Diane, and I decided to start the holiday season by seeing the new 3D Christmas Carol movie at the Imax. Wow, it was big! 3D is so much fun. And, the glasses are so stylin’!


Diane, me, Cindy

I sent off my quilt for the holiday swap at 4SQS. It was adapted from the book “A New Light on Storm at Sea Quilts”. The ornament quilt in the book had 2 ornaments and was way bigger than the requirements of the swap. Here is my take on it:

I also received my package from the same swap. I am borrowing the picture from Kari, who was my secret partner. Isn’t it adorable?

Kari also sent me a charm pack and fat quarters from the Flower Show III line – which I love!

This past weekend I was back in Joshua for a quilting retreat. I didn’t feel like I accomplished as much as I wanted. It took me a full day and a half to complete the 5 blocks I owe Margaret for the final round of our row robin. I’m happy with the way they turned out, though. She wanted 9 inch star blocks. The last of the 5 I had originally planned didn’t work out as I’d planned, so at midnight on Friday, I was picking a new block…and not just a little disgusted with the way things were going. Anyway, I ended up doing a block called “Margaret’s Choice”, which I thought was more than fitting. Here is what I ended up doing:

Margaret’s Choice is the left most block. The other 4 are patterns from Quilter’s Cache…the home of thousands of quilt blocks!

Saturday night, my back was sore from all that time spent sitting at my sewing machine. Barbara has an anti-gravity chair in the retreat center. So, I retired to that seat with some microwave warmed heat bags on my shoulders.

(I know, attractive, right?)

And, this was the view from the chair:

We made 2 new friends this time around. Bridget and Nancy were great fun and did some lovely work!

After dinner on Saturday night, Barbara, Diane, Gerry, Cindy, and Kris relaxed in the sitting area.

What besides the stars did I get done? I put together the wonky 9-patch blocks for this round of the ORBQ. I am using Flower Show III.

I also made a scarf with dupioni silk on the front and red flannel (for warmth and to match my red wool coat) on the back.

Some of the other work on the design walls:


And, the girls:


Diane, Bridget, Nancy, Gerry, Kris, Cindy, and Kay

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
