Lori's Weblog

I’ve been a busy girl…and it’s about time!

Posted on: September 21, 2009

I feel like it’s been ages since I posted any quilting things, so I’m going to try to make up for it tonight!

Today was the deadline for the “Good Ol’ Summertime” Swap at Quilting Gallery. I hope my partner likes the little butterfly I made for her. Here is a look at it:

IMG_4405_0804
The pattern was from 3D Explosion by Cara Gulati. I had a hard time with the technique, and time was running out, so I decided to do it as a fusible applique.

IMG_4420_0790
I finished the raw edges by couching some 1/8″ shiny ribbon to them. And, the antennae are embroidered from metallic floss.

IMG_4417_0787
Here is my freezer paper template for the sashiko-style quilting I did.

IMG_4418_0788
And, the finished project.

On Wednesday of last week, we had our Sampler Studio class. The “Good Humor” quilt blocks are turning out so cute! Here is what we did this month:

sampler studio 9-09

Thursday was Sisterhood night. We were a few ladies short, but here is what we had to show:

Barbara 9-09
De 9-09
gerry 9-09
cindy 9-09
Gay 9-09
diane-sept 09
IMG_4412_0798
IMG_4411_0797

After Sisterhood, I headed out to Joshua, TX, to the retreat center at Batik’s Galore for a weekend of sewing and fun.

This is a picture looking away from the retreat center:
IMG_4425_0781

Barbara has added 3 donkeys to her menagerie:
IMG_4427_0783

And, there’s always plenty of lovin’ to be had from Gus and Molly:
IMG_4423_0793

It was Barbara’s birthday on Friday, and we were honored to celebrate with her:
IMG_4424_0794

Somehow, I forgot to take a picture of the black, white, and yellow table runner that I quilted. I’ll get that later this week. Hopefully, I’ll get the binding on before the week is out. I finished the butterfly quilt while there, too. I also pieced the top for the first project that we did at the ORBQ flickr group. I chose fabric from City Girl Holiday and I Believe in Santa.

IMG_4428_0784
IMG_4429_0785

And, I quilted the baby quilt for my bowling partners’ grandbaby. I am so pleased with the way this turned out! Harriet showed me how to make leaves, and I think she may have created a monster!
IMG_4433_0778
IMG_4434_0779
IMG_4435_0780

Now, I’m off to watch the rest of “Dancing With the Stars” and “Castle”. With all the premieres this week, it will be good for binding in front of the tv!

Lori

2 Responses to "I’ve been a busy girl…and it’s about time!"

All looks great Lori, very inspiring. The butterfly is lovely especially the colours. Is the spotty star a pinwheel pattern. I love that block. The retreat also looks very relaxing and enjoyable. The crib quilt looks a bit Amish to me. Thanks for the inspiration!

Diana – The star is a double pinwheel – and quite easier than it looks! Less than 2 hours from start to finish (in a class, so it goes a little slower than sewing at home). I hope my swap partner likes the butterfly, too. I was ready to ditch it with less than a week to the deadline, so I’m quite pleased with how it turned out. And, the retreat was lovely. I have really good quilty friends!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
