Lori's Weblog

What’s on my design wall this week?

Posted on: July 19, 2009

First, I actually found a spot to HANG my design wall! Then, I did a bunch of sewing. Saturday morning I did most of the piecing of this table runner, which is made from charm squares.

yellow and black table runner

It’s ready to be quilted.

Then, I pulled out these blocks from a swap I did a few years ago. All the blocks are paper-pieced. I got this far and when I went to cut the horizontal sashings, realized I didn’t have enough fabric left. I’ll pick more up on Wednesday, and may get this top finished by this time next week. There are supposed to be 30 blocks, but one of the blocks I got was seriously short of 8.5 inches square, so I decided to only use 25 (it’s hard to see the blocks on the far right because my design wall isn’t quite wide enough).

Black and white

When I figured out I couldn’t finish the black and white top, I decided to pull out the remnants of a Basic Grey “Sultry” layer cake. Kiki and Hercules sleep at the bottom of my bed…and leave a lot of fur behind. I thought I would make a topper, which would be easier to wash than the bedspread or quilt. Here is what I have so far:

Bed Topper

These blocks will finish to 12″ square. I’m happy with 24 inches wide, but think I want to go at least 60 inches in length.

New books this week, too. I started “Fearless Fourteen” by Janet Evanovich, and “Physik” by Angie Sage.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
