Lori's Weblog

A “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle” Challenge

Posted on: July 5, 2009

My quilt guild has a “green theme” this year. The 25th anniversary is in July and we were given a bag challenge. I actually made 2 bags over the weekend – and they aren’t even due until a week from tomorrow! I picked up the book “Simply Sublime Bags” by Jodi Kahn a couple weeks ago because she had some good inspiration projects in it. It’s a low-sew, no-sew book, so I did adapt her projects to the sewing machine.

The first project I made was also inspired by “Quilts from the Selvage Edge” by Karen Griska. (You can check out all kinds of selvage projects on her blog.

I picked the envelope clutch pattern from the “Simply Sublime” book, covered my foundation with selvages, Misty-fused the lining to the foundation and voila!

Selvage purse

Selvage purse

The next project was a modification of the “Simply Sublime” Tee-bag. She lined her t-shirt with duct tape. I, again, broke out the Misty-fuse, and fused some fabric from my stash to the inside of the t-shirt. Granted, the coverage isn’t the same as it would have been with duct tape, but I also didn’t want to sew through duct tape on my sewing machine. I zig-zagged around all the raw edges even though t-shirt knit doesn’t ravel. But, in some places, I cut my lining fabric and needed to keep that from ravelling.

T-shirt bag

T-shirt bag

I’m hoping to win “Best Use of Recycled Products”…

Now, I have to get busy in a journal for my friend, Jenny. I’ve had it for ages and am feeling bad that I haven’t had a really creative idea for it. It’s a journal about teen sleuths. Jenny is one of my “Trixie friends”. We met online on a message board for fans of Trixie Belden. I’ve decided I’m going to put in a picture of the bookcase where all my Trixie’s reside.

bookcase

Somewhere along the line from leaving Mom’s house, to a couple of different apartments in both Duluth and Minneapolis, and moves to New Orleans and Dallas, my original Trixie’s were given away or lost. So, I’ve been rebuilding my library. I have some of each of the different versions, but not a full set of anything.

I finished “Salvation in Death” last night. It makes me sad because there are only a couple more books until I’m all caught up on the series. I started “The Good, The Bad, and the Undead” by Kim Harrison, the 2nd in her Rachel Morgan series. Still a ways to go in “Wicked Prey”.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
