Lori's Weblog

I hate trying to think of clever post titles…

Posted on: June 5, 2009

so there is no cleverness in the header!

I have cool things to talk about, though.

First, I had a comment from Connie at Quilt Qua asking if she could include my blog in the blog listing on her site. Click on the link to check out Quilt Qua…a great resource of stores, shows, blogs, etc., etc., etc. Also, cool! She’s having a giveaway, so be sure to check out the site and tell your friends!

QQ_200_150_2

Here is info on the latest giveaway: Win: 1 Frosted Memories Fat Quarter Bundle by Holly Taylor for Moda Fabrics ! To enter simply “tell a friend” to spread the word about Quilt Qua. You can send an e-mail to people, post on your blog, comment on someone else’s blog, put info in your guild newsletter, etc. Then send an e-mail to: quiltqua@gmail.com and let Connie know what you did. Enter as often as you wish. Random drawing for the winner will be at 10 pm July 31st. (Feel free to post giveaway info on your site.)

Portrait Quilts
I took the day off from work on Wednesday and took a class out at Happiness is…Quilting in McKinney. The instructor was Margaret Bucklew and the class was a quilted portrait class. Because I signed up so close to the class date, I wasn’t able to get a custom pattern, but worked on one that she provided. I got further along than most of the rest of the ladies because I didn’t have as many pieces to cut out, but let me tell you: they had some seriously cool quilts in progress! Here is a picture of my nearly finished project:

Cat portrait

I chose to leave it as a 12 x 12 block so I could use it for my contribution to Diane’s Sisterhood quilt, but may go ahead and make her another one. We’ll see.

Here is Margaret’s website if you want to check out her work. Chiseled in Cloth .

New Fabrics
Of course, you can’t visit a new quilt store without checking out the goods, right? So the 3 fabrics on the left were my purchases for the day. (The white with the grey, green, and orange is going to be a skirt.) The 2 on the right, I picked up a couple weeks ago. So much pretty.

New fabric

Sneak Peak at Mini Quilt

Time is ticking away on the Spring Blooms Mini Quilt Swap. If you want to salivate over all the loveliness that is being swapped, you can check out the pics in the flickr group.

I am now ready to sandwich and quilt mine. Here are a couple pictures.
Spring Fling Swap_sneakpeak
Close up Spring Fling 1

Books!

Isn’t it lovely when the UPS man brings you something you’ve been WAITING and WAITING for? I ordered these books several weeks ago, and had to wait for the release date on one of them.
Book bonanza

I’ll be busting open the Charlaine Harris book as soon as I get my FarmTown grapes harvested!

Oh, yeah, and a new car!

The dealership that I bought my “old” car from called and said they need used cars, had a customer looking for an 05 Cavalier, would I be interested in trading in? So, Sophie has gone to live with someone else. I am now driving a very cute 09 Chevy Cobalt in “silver moss”, which is green. Kermit and I will have a long, happy relationship I’m sure.

2 Responses to "I hate trying to think of clever post titles…"

I love those fabrics! I love all fabric……thanks for stopping by and saying hello! -Allison

That portrait block is amazing! I so want to learn how to do that. I’ve dreamed of making something like it for my brother and sister-in-law’s first anniversary from one of their wedding photos.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
