Lori's Weblog

Spring has sprung…

Posted on: April 17, 2009

As evidenced by the visitors I saw in the cement pond yesterday morning.

baby-ducks

A mama and nine (NINE, take that Octo-mom!) fuzzy little balls of cuteness!

I have been sewing, it just feels like I never get anything actually finished.  Tonight was our small group meeting, the Sisterhood of the Travelling Block.  This is the 3rd round of our 2009 “session”.  This is the first set of pictures I’ve had to post, and I’m debating whether to have a separate page like I did for 2008.  Anyway, we added 3 ladies to our group this year and we are having a great bit of fun.  Besides bringing in our finished block each month, we are trying to do some charity quilts on the actual meeting nights.  So, this is what we have done so far: (please excuse my lack of cropping…it’s getting late and I’d planned to fold some laundry before bed, too!)

Celia's blocks

Celia's blocks

Celia likes the scrappy look.

Cindy (left) and Barbara (right)

Cindy (left) and Barbara (right)

Cindy’s theme is Christmas colors.  Barbara wants stars.

De

De

De has these lovely greens, reds, and tans that she wants us to work with.

Diana

Diana

Diana has an autumn theme.

Diane

Diane

Diane’s blocks are cats.

Donna

Donna

Donna would like us to work in black and white.

Gerry

Gerry

Gerry loves her western look.

Janet (left and middle) and Sam (right)

Janet (left and middle) and Sam (right)

Besides quilting, Janet rides.  Same has a Sunbonnet Sue in outer space theme.

Lori (me)

Lori (me)

I want a brown and blue quilt.

I’m missing Gay’s blocks.  I’ll get them up next time.

I’m hard at work on a baby quilt.  My bowling partner’s son and daughter-in-law are having a baby girl in May.  I think Grandma and Grandpa need a quilt at their house for the first grandchild, don’t you?  This is my first time doing a flange as a de-marker between the top and the border (which is going to be the lime green).  I think this is a great girly quilt without being “baby-ish”.

img_3944_0097

I’ve also got Robin’s starter row for our row robin.  I will try to get a picture of what she sent soon.  Not tonight.  I know what I’m going to do for MY row for her, I’ve got the fabric and it’s washed, but still in the dryer.  So that is for another day, too.

What am I reading?  I finished both of the latest Jennifer Chiaverini books – “The Quilter’s Kitchen” and “The Lost Quilter”.  Next to the bed, I have Diane Mott Davidson’s “Sweet Revenge”.  My car book is “The Ex-Debutante” by Linda Francis Lee.  I’m trying to find “Fearless Fourteen” by Janet Evanovich…my local B&N just doesn’t have it on the shelves.  I may have to break down and order it…but 15 is about to come out, so I need to read 14.  A new Sookie Stackhouse book is also about to come out, as is the 3rd book in Michael Scott’s Nicholas Flamel series “The Sorceress”.  And, I need to figure out what is next for me in the “In Death” series.  I know I’m getting close to caught up.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
