Lori's Weblog

Lots of lovely things…

Posted on: March 25, 2009

I am participating in a row robin with a group at flickr.com.  We need to have our first row (the basis for the rest of the rows from the other 5 participants in the group) in the mail by April 1.  I have had an awful time trying to come up with a theme.  Then, I remembered I had a 2nd Saturday project that I hadn’t finished (like there is only 1!)…anyway, this particular project really, really makes me happy.  So, I decided to do a little frog-stitching and transform it from a square to a 48″ row.  Here it is:

loris-row1

and here is a close-up.  The pinwheels and the geese are 3-D.  Cool, huh?:

loris-row_closeup

Yellow must be my current “color”.  This lovely little bundle was a birthday present.  It’s a charm kit for a table runner.

yellow-and-black

My LQS had a moving sale over the weekend.  I gave up fabric buying for Lent.  However, the LQS has a stamp card program; so, technically, I didn’t BUY this.

new-fabric

or this:

landscape-fabric

I’m participating in an on-line class at http://www.TwoCreativeStudios.com .  It is called Faces on Fabric.  I’m way far behind.  What else is new?  However, I did also “not buy” this fabric for my quilt’s background and my face.

facesonfabric

And, lest you think I never use any fabric…here is my first attempt at a Cathedral Window block.  I’m not totally happy with it, but one has to start somewhere, doesn’t one?

img_3928_0075

A couple nights ago, I changed the bed sheets.  When I came upstairs to put the clean sheets on the bed, Kiki and Hercules were actually acting nice with each other.

kiki-and-hercules

And, hardly ever does Kiki hold still enough to have a solo picture.  And, she doesn’t really look too happy with the papparazzo, does she?

kiki_sneer1

Finished 2 books this week.  Last night I turned the last page in “The Hollow” by Nora Roberts.  I will start “The Pagan Stone”, the last book in this trilogy, tonight.  Over the last few days, I’ve been listening to “The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield.  I finished that before lunch today.  It really makes the work day go faster when I listen to a book…wish I’d thought of it sooner.  I also picked up “The Quilter’s Kitchen” by Jennifer Chiaverini this afternoon.  It looks like it’s going to be a quick read because there are a lot of recipes in the book, too.

Finally, yahoooooo!!!  I have tile in all 2.5 of my bathrooms!  Now, if I can get some baseboard, I’ll be really happy.

Thirty minutes to “Biggest Loser”…just enough time to surf a few blogs and maybe do a crossword puzzle.

Ta!

Lori

1 Response to "Lots of lovely things…"

I didn’t realise your row was 3D. Great idea!

I am very into yellow too- must be that Spring is in the air!

And can’t wait to see your progress with the cathedral windows. That is on my list of things to try.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
