Lori's Weblog

Of cats, dyes, and the Dallas Quilt Celebration

Posted on: March 18, 2009

I get bummed out when the blogs I follow aren’t updated.  So, why do I wait so long between posts?  Now, I have all kinds of things to “talk” about.

I was out of town last night for work…a quick out-and-back trip to Baton Rouge.  The best part?  A king-size bed.  Now, mind you, my bed is a plenty big queen.  However, my 19-pound cat stayed at home.  Somewhere along the line, he has decided that my pillow (or worse, my head) is the place for him to sleep.

img_3895_00403

Two or three weeks ago, we had a silk dyeing class at TQW.  Then, I decided to try some cotton.  Here are my results.  The big piece of fabric in the back was my original.  The pink and green (trust me, it’s green) smaller pieces on top are my tests.

dyed

This past weekend was Dallas Quilt Celebration, the Dallas guild’s show.  I worked at the TQW booth on Saturday and Sunday morning.  Was a “quilt angel” on Friday afternoon.  Diana made us some fabulous nametags.  I chose the chubby little cherub.

nametag

Here are some of my favorite entries in the show.

mosaic95502842

Finally, what did I read this past week?  I finished “Purrfect Murder” by Rita Mae Brown.  I love, love, love this series and was so excited to see this new book.  I enjoy all the characters, 2- and 4-legged.  A good mystery.  I didn’t figure it out until the end.

Also, I picked up the first book in Terry Thayer’s quilting mystery series at the show.  “Wild Goose Chase” was really good.  Again, likable characters, good mystery, and a quilt show.  Can’t ask for much more than that, now, can you?

Next up is “The Hollow”, the 2nd book in the Seven Series by Nora Roberts.

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
