Lori's Weblog

My first quilt

Posted on: July 12, 2009

There is a Parade of Quilts happening. And, I do love me a parade! It is the brain child of Camille at Simplify and Carrie at LaVieEnRosie . So, here’s my first quilt:

ronna008

My apologies for the photo quality. I had to scan it from a scrapbook page. Anyhoo, it was a baby quilt for my friend, Ronna, who was pregnant with her third baby…first girl. I absolutely had no idea what I was doing, but had seen a kind of colorwash quilt in a book and figured I could do that. So, I drafted out a heart, cut a kajillion 2-inch (I KNOW, what was I thinking?) squares and laid them out on the living room floor. Then, Hercules, big cow that he is, came running through the living room, right through the middle of my kajillion 2-inch squares. Once I was able to put things back together, I pieced the top and hand-tied it…at every intersection. Yeah. I believe I made this around 1997 or 1998.

My latest COMPLETED quilt is the little landscape I made for the challenge at The Quilter’s Workshop. It’s just a few posts down, but I’ll show it to you here, again.

finished landscape

Voting is currently going on at the store, so if you’re local (or visiting), click on their button on my sidebar, get directions, and go out and vote! (You can only vote in person.)

And, don’t forget to go over and vote in the Ugly Quilt Contest! (Pssssst! I’m a contestant!)

What was I thinking? – The Ugly Quilt Contest

That’s about it for sewing this past week. My friend, Marco, visited yesterday. We went to the Rosemeade Aquatic Center in Carrollton. What a nice (inexpensive) place to have poolside fun! It was super hot (and we’re expecting 3 more days over 100 degrees). After lunch and shopping, we went to see “Pelham 123″. It was so good. I love John Travolta and think it really says something about his acting ability when someone who seems so affable in person (well, you know, on tv) can play such a convincing bad guy. Then, I let him win at cribbage…best of 3. And, yes, he skunked me on the 3rd game. Boo!

I need to get busy on a block that is due on Thursday…and besides working every day, I have guild Monday, Sampler Studio on Wednesday…and I hate having only one night to get a block done, in case something comes up.

Aaaaaand, I finished the Kim Harrison book I was working on “The Good, The Bad, and The Undead”. I couldn’t fall asleep Friday night, so I stayed up until 1 a.m. Now, I’m on book 3: Every Which Way But Dead. Still enjoying this series.

1 Response to "My first quilt"

I started my first quilt in 1979. It is a Grandmother’s Flower Garden, if I knew then what I know now. It took me 20 years to complete and is a bit shonky. Since it is my first I sleep under it and still feel affection for it!

Leave a Reply

Quilting Bloggers Logo





In the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap






>br>


A Lovely Year of Finishes
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

